NAAC BOSTON MEMBER EVENTS

The Network for Arts Administrators of Color (or NAAC Boston) was established to enhance the visibility of professionals of color in Greater Boston’s arts and culture sector, as well as widen the leadership pipeline and highlight opportunities for professional and personal growth in the field.

Below is a calendar of events promoting the work of NAAC Boston members and events affiliated with NAAC Boston members’ organizations.

Made possible with generous support by

 Want NAAC Boston to Know About Your Event?


American Moor

Presented by O.W.I. (Bureau of Theatre) at BCA Plaza Theatre, Boston

July 19 - August 12

American Moor is an 85-minute solo play written and performed by Keith Hamilton Cobb (All My Children, The Young and the Restless) examining the experience and perspective of black men in America through the metaphor of William Shakespeare’s character, Othello. A black actor auditioning for the role of Othello finds himself torn between wanting the role of a lifetime and having to engage an age-old process that invariably ends up with a large black man on stage responding to white... [more+]
American Moor is an 85-minute solo play written and performed by Keith Hamilton Cobb (All My Children, The Young and the Restless) examining the experience and perspective of black men in America through the metaphor of William Shakespeare’s character, Othello. A black actor auditioning for the role of Othello finds himself torn between wanting the role of a lifetime and having to engage an age-old process that invariably ends up with a large black man on stage responding to white decision makers who presume to understand, and ultimately dictate, how a charismatic, intelligent, black man should behave in society. Powerful, dynamic, humorous, at times confrontational, at times ironic, yet truthful throughout, American Moor becomes a deeply moving exploration about race in America, of how we see only what we want to see of one another, and how the pall of privileged perspectives is ultimately so injurious to us all. It asks, Who gets to make art in America? Whose perspectives matter? Why must only certain roles be relegated to actors of color? What will it take for us to wholly embrace one another? [less-]

Dates & times

Wed, Jul 26 @ 7:30 pm Thu, Jul 27 @ 7:30 pm Fri, Jul 28 @ 8:00 pm + 11 more dates and times

Sat, Jul 29 @ 8:00 pm Sun, Jul 30 @ 2:00 pm Wed, Aug 02 @ 7:30 pm Thu, Aug 03 @ 7:30 pm Fri, Aug 04 @ 8:00 pm Sat, Aug 05 @ 8:00 pm Sun, Aug 06 @ 2:00 pm Wed, Aug 09 @ 7:30 pm Thu, Aug 10 @ 7:30 pm Fri, Aug 11 @ 8:00 pm Sat, Aug 12 @ 8:00 pm - Less dates

START NETWORKING